The same kind of different

Checking in…not much has changed.

The legal process has ratcheted up a notch or two.  Not pretty.  I continually remind myself that (a) I started this nuclear reaction, (b) love and hate are really on the same side of the coin, and (c) this, too, shall pass.  I’ve also learned that taking the high road is NEVER the wrong decision.  If I can impart a singular nugget of wisdom to any of you contemplating this same general voyage, it’s that.  Always take the high road, turn the other cheek, forgive your enemy – however you want to phrase it.  I ventured into the gutter once, and only once, and regretted it as soon as I got there.  Enough said on that topic.

My son spent his spring break with me and it was a simply glorious week.  My daughter went with her friends to the beach and while I missed having her with us, it was all good.  She deserved the opportunity to be with her friends and we both genuinely were OK with it.  The weather here was perfect and we had the chance to do lots of fun outdoor stuff.   I took it as a good sign each night he fell into bed exhausted with no coaxing from me and drifted off to sleep with a smile on his face.  I hope my kids never seem too old for me to watch them fall asleep.

The item that has me writing again is something many of you may have already seen this week.  There’s a blogger a few years younger than me who found himself in the same boat.  He’s been blogging for quite some time and was/is a staple in the “dad blogs” world.  It was apparently quite newsworthy this week when he posted his coming out story on his blog.  Picked up by CNN.com, HLNTV.com, and HuffPo.  Newsworthy for a variety of reasons, many of which totally lost on him (I get it).  I’ve added a link to his blog to my own.  For those of you who haven’t read it yet, get over there and, at least, read the posts on his coming out and his talk with his daughter about his orientation.  I’ve known I’m neither alone nor unique in this situation.  I’ve known I started on my path without intending to cause pain and suffering.  And I’ve believed since it happened that it was the right thing for me to do.  To have a complete stranger write about a journey and process so very similar to my own has lifted my spirits this week.  And then to read his post about his discussion with his daughter made me know that I did the right thing being honest with my own children sooner rather than later.  Again, if you need an uplifting read this week, check out http://didactic-pirate.blogspot.com/2012/04/honesty.html.

So that’s my “news” for now.  It’s really not news at all.  My normal not so different than your normal.

About Traveling Out

I'm a 46 year old man living in the suburbs of friendly Atlanta. Married, 2 kids, 2 dogs, professional, life is good. Until I realize the crutch I've used all my life to convince myself I'm not gay falls apart. Welcome to the jungle. So far, writing is taking the place of paying $$$ for therapy...but I'm pretty sure that day is coming too.
This entry was posted in coming out, gay, married and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The same kind of different

  1. Pingback: The same kind of different | My own travel out | Travel Out Now

Leave a Reply

